Match Report T20 Final Vs Shrewsbury

Birmingham Premier League

T20 Competition Final

Berkswell 132/1 v Shrewsbury 126/5

Berkswell retained the Birmingham League T20 Trophy after completing a nine wicket victory over Shrewsbury.

An understrength Shrewsbury side, devoid of its Worcestershire county players, found it hard to accumulate enough runs against a virtually full strength home side and turned the contest into a very much one sided affair. Deciding to bat first after winning the toss, Shrewsbury’s openers Tyler Ibbotson and Rob Foster compiled an opening partnership of 70 runs until Foster (29), in the 11th over, skied a ball from Dan Mousley to Dan Clark fielding just behind square. Llyr Thomas (9), Asham Hodge (12), and Matthew Swift (2) provided support to Ibbotson, but the batsmen were unable to exert any real pressure on the Berkwell bowlers. Ibbotson (69), who had batted throughout the Shrewsbury innings, was run out off the last ball of Shrewsbury’s 20 overs when attempting a second run, and the target set for Berkswell was only 127 for victory and the chance to reclaim the T20 trophy won in 2018.

With Shrewsbury lacking any real quality bowling penetration, the Berkswell response was emphatic with Ateeq Javid and Nick Bland (19) putting together an opening stand of 64 runs in the first 7 overs, and Mousley (30 no) and Javid (79 no) easily steered the home side through to victory with five overs remaining.

#BirminghamPremierLeague #2019Season #SeniorSquad #ClubNews #T20Cricket

Featured Story
Recent News
Follow Us
  • Facebook - Berkswell Cricket Club v1
  • Twitter - Berkswell Cricket Club v1
  • Instagram - Berkswell Cricket Club v1
Berkswell Cricket Club
Club Sections
Balsall Common | Coventry