Match Report 1st XI Vs Kidderminster

Birmingham Premier League Division 1

Kidderminster 164ao v Berkswell 165/5

A five wicket away win at Kidderminster, and 20 points gained, ensured that the Birmingham Premier League Championship Trophy would reside in the trophy cabinet at Meeting House Lane for the second time in back to back seasons.

Winning the toss, Berkswell skipper Dominic Ostler, invited the hosts to bat first on a wicket that showed a tinge of green and also appeared to be holding a touch of moisture, and the bowling attack of Tom Milnes and Richard Jones kept the Kidderminster opening pair in check. With runs hard to come by Jones was unlucky to see a loose shot from Andrew Kimberlin fly at pace to slip, but Ostler was, uncharacteristically, unable to hold the chance. With Kimberlin and Connor Smith both playing and missing consistently a change of bowling brought Grant Thornton into the attack. In his first over he successfully removed Kimberlin (10) when he edged a catch to wicketkeeper Chris Whittock with the scoreboard on 22. Smith and Shameer Ahmed added another 19 runs, but with the score now at 41 in the 14th over Thornton had Smith (22) caught by Ostler. In his next over, Thornton then trapped Neil Pinner (0) lbw for the addition of only three runs to the total. A change of ends for Jones also had a result as he had Ahmed (27) adjudged lbw to now leave the Chester Road side on 56 for 4 in the 19th over. Another change of bowler also paid dividends for Berkswell as Ateeq Javid claimed the wicket of Simon Greenall (1) when he was also given out lbw - the scoreboard reading 60 for 5. However, Sam Beadsworth and Barney Morgan eased the pressure on the home side with a partnership of 41 runs over the next ten overs. Another lbw decision saw the demise of Beadsworth (35) to give Javid a second wicket, and when Tom Lewis, fielding at mid-on, held a spectacular one handed catch above his head to remove Liam Weston (1), and Thornton then caught Morgan (17), Kidderminster had slumped to 108 for 8 in the 35th over. Some tail-end resistance from Charlie Stainforth (39 not out) pushed the score to over 150, but the reintroduction of Milnes and Jones wrapped up the tail with Milnes bowling Chris Steele (3), and Jones bowling Gomes Vincent (7) to bring the innings to a close on 164 in the 49th over. Thornton finished with figures of 3 for 48, and Javid 3 for 37.

In their reply, Berkswell started aggressively with Javid and Dan Mousley putting together an opening partnership of 30 runs in only three overs. The loss of Mousley (18) in the fourth over brought Whittock to the crease and the run scoring momentum was maintained until Whittock (13) was caught and bowled by Morgan in the 7th over with another 19 runs being added to the score. A third wicket partnership of 49 runs between Javid and Danial Chaudhry moved Berkswell nearer to the 100 runs mark, but Chaudhry (29) was then caught at slip by Vincent. At 106, Javid (38) was given out lbw to a delivery from Morgan, and at 121 Nick James (9) was also given out lbw this time to a ball from Pinner in the 22nd over. Despite the loss of five wickets, the result was never in doubt as Lewis (33 not out) and Jones (14 not out), with a flurry of fours and sixes, quickly brought the match to its conclusion in the 25th over and, with it, the 2019 championship title.

On Saturday, Berkswell return to Meeting House Lane to face Walsall - the match starts at 12 noon.

#BirminghamPremierLeague #2019Season #SeniorSquad #ClubNews

Featured Story
Recent News
Follow Us
  • Facebook - Berkswell Cricket Club v1
  • Twitter - Berkswell Cricket Club v1
  • Instagram - Berkswell Cricket Club v1
Berkswell Cricket Club
Club Sections
Balsall Common | Coventry